Transtunisian pipeline

The Pipeline

The TTPC transportation system was built with the main purpose to transport the Algerian gas to the Italian market and is the result of the agreements entered into by Eni and the Tunisian government in 1977 and renewed in 1991, for the laying of a second line. These laws in agreements have been ratified by the Tunisian Parliament and have therefore become laws in the Republic of Tunisia.

The pipeline consists of two 48'' lines, the first line operational since 1983 and the second since 1994, which run across the Tunisian territory for about 370 kilometres, from the Oued es Saf-Saf region, at the Algerian border, to the Cap Bon point, on the Mediterranean coast, where the TTPC pipeline is interconnected with the submarine TMPC (Transmediterranean Pipeline Company) pipeline.

The system includes five compression stations located at Feriana, near the Algerian border, Sbeitla, Sbikha, Korba and Cap Bon. The Cap Bon compression station is dedicated to the boosting of the natural gas throughout the TMPC system to Mazara del Vallo, in Sicily, where the TMPC pipeline is interconnected with the Snam Rete Gas Italian transportation network.

The pipeline's transportation capacity is committed under long-term ship or pay transportation contracts.